Prince Harry and Meghan to become The Duke and Duchess of Sussex on their wedding day

It was announced this morning from Buckingham Palace that Her Majesty The Queen has granted the title of ‘Duke of Sussex’ to her grandson, Prince Henry of Wales.

In a statement just after 8am this morning, the Palace said: “The Queen has today been pleased to confer a Dukedom on Prince Henry of Wales. His titles will be Duke of Sussex, Earl of Dumbarton and Baron Kilkeel.”

In what is traditional on a royal wedding day, The Sovereign granted titles representing different parts of Her Majesty’s United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Embed from Getty Images

After marriage, Ms Markle will become Her Royal Highness Princess Henry of Wales, Duchess of Sussex, Countess of Dumbarton and Baroness Kilkeel. She will be known as HRH The Duchess of Sussex.

Similar to Prince Harry, the previous Duke of Sussex, Augustus Frederick, lived at Kensington Palace, and married for love, rather than choosing a bride based on the traditional royal mould.

Prince Augustus Frederick was not given consent by his father, King George III, to marry his first wife Lady Augusta Murray, as she was considered to be from too low a social rank.

However, the Prince married her in Rome in 1793, and again in England when they returned, but without The King’s permission the marriage was annulled in 1794.

In 1874 Sussex was also given as an Earldom alongside the Dukedom of Connaught and Strathearn to Queen Victoria’s third son Prince Arthur. The titles became extinct on the death of his grandson Alastair Windsor, the second Duke of Connaught and Strathearn and Earl of Sussex, in 1943.

Sussex also existed as a non-Royal title before it was given to Prince Augustus. The Earldom of Sussex was given to William d’Aubigny in 1141 and was passed down the family until the death of the 5th Earl of Sussex, who was usually known as Earl of Arundel, in 1243.

The Earldom of Dumbarton has been previously given on one occasion to George Douglas, a younger son of the first Marquess of Douglas, who was created Earl of Dumbarton in 1675. The title became extinct in 1749, and hasn’t been used since. Dumbarton is a town to the north of the river Clyde in the west of Scotland.

The title of Baron Kilkeel is new and has never previously been granted. Kilkeel is a small fishing town on the coast of County Down in Northern Ireland, below the Mourne Mountains.

Embed from Getty Images


Later today, Prince Harry and Ms Markle will become the sixteenth Royal couple to marry at St George’s Chapel since 1863. Follow The Crown Chronicles for updates.

Embed from Getty Images

Written by

I currently study Politics with International Relations at Aston University. I am very interested in current affairs and have a passion for our monarchy and British history. World War II is a very interesting area of study for me. I strongly believe the United Kingdom benefits from a monarchy to protect the unwritten constitution that we have. I would class myself as a traditional person and I enjoy reading historical books. Furthermore I enjoy flying as aviation is another passion of mine. I also enjoy to travel, especially when spending time in quintessential English villages.

Latest comment
  • the Duke and duchess of sussex are wonderful name.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.